5 IPS officers promoted

Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, February 4

The Punjab Government today promoted five Indian Police Service (IPS) officers to Inspectors General of Police (IGPs) and Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs).

Three IPS officers of 2003 batch, including Sukhchain Singh Gill, currently posted as Commissioner of Police (CP), Amritsar; Ashish Choudhary, on central deputation serving with the National Investigation Agency (NIA); and Ranbir Singh Khatra, DIG (Jalandhar range) have been promoted as IGPs.

Two other officers, including Dhanpreet Kaur (2006 batch), on central deputation; and S Boopathi (2007 batch), AIG (Personnel-1), Punjab Police Headquarters, have been promoted as DIGs.

A directly recruited IPS officer gets promotion as the IGP on completion of 18 years in service, while on completing 14 years in service, an IPS officer is elevated as the DIG.

5 IPS officers promoted